Spider bites

I didn’t get bitten by these spiders in Japan. They knew to leave me alone. Unless… they came home with us, waited 8 months and then attacked…

Let me give you some advice.

Never, ever, ever, ever, ever, under ANY circumstances, look up “spider bite” in Google images. Nor should you ever keep scrolling past the first page. Really. No one should have to look at that.

Especially if you have a bite of your own that’s mildly painful and has about an inch diameter of light swelling around it.

I had almost convinced myself that this is only the beginning of something far, far worse.

Probably my veins will turn black and my skin will fall off. Will you still read my blog after I’m an amputee?

Or maybe I’ll gain super spider powers and be able to run around spinning webs and jumping off the ceiling. That would be kind of cool. And would make this blog much more interesting. Just think of all the stories I’ll have to tell!

My more pragmatic side prevails — I have none of the other symptoms WebMD mentions; headache, nausea, vomiting, listlessness (really!?).

So, probably my leg is not going to fall off.

Today is day 2 of Living With the Spider Bite.

I think I’m going to make it.

Have you ever had a spider bite of death?

Should I try to cut it out before it gets worse?

Share your thoughts

