Shall I redecorate the whole house?

I don’t really decorate. I’ve got hand-me-down furniture that I am emotionally attached to, and I have two roommates with different decorating ideas (one more opinionated than the other) so mostly I just let other people deal with it, and I’m happy with the results.

We have a nice place, if a bit disjointed.

I also don’t decorate my boyfriend’s house. He has his own style and colors he likes, and I think it’s really important for people to have their own space. Especially since there’s a good chance we’ll eventually live together, and when that happens I’m sure I’ll want to decorate.

But… on Friday night he was having people over and asked me to stop at the store on my way home from work and pick up some twinkly lights for the patio. So I stopped at Home Goods, which does not have twinkly lights, it turns out, and instead I bought a cool metal candle holder. And some candles on sale.

I found a really cool octopus serving platter, which I think *someone* might love, but alas I did not buy it.

See?

Seafood tray?

Then I went to Target and bought a red and white patterned serving tray, two boxes of twinkly lights, one box of fancy hanging lights that match the candle holder, some light clips, seat cushions (!) and do you see where this is going?

I decorated the patio!

It turned out really pretty, and of course the party was fun. It had been a long time since I sat around a fire pit talking. It was nice, and not too cold out.

I’m sure we’ll be doing it again.

Behold, the patio!

Twinkly patio!

7 comments on “Shall I redecorate the whole house?

  1. Claire says:

    That patio shot is beautiful! I want to be there right now!

  2. twobetties says:

    That looks great! I wan that candle holder 🙂

  3. Judy says:

    How beautiful!

Share your thoughts

