Blog: Lipstick and Lead

We are poisoning ourselves. Did you know that? The FDA found levels of lead in, um, pretty much every lipstick tested.

Some of those are below the legal limit, but WHY is there lead in the lipstick in the first place, huh?

Now, I know that when we buy mainstream makeup it comes with all kinds of horrible, unthinkable chemicals inside that are absorbed into our bodies as we try to make ourselves pretty. I get it.

That’s why for a while I was checking this database on safecosmetics.org to look up everything I bought and see how crazy toxic it is. For instance, my lipstain, which does NOT COME OFF no matter how much food I eat. Unless I put chapstick on top of it, because it dries the heck out of my skin, and then it flakes off and sticks to my toothbrush and it takes me two days to get the red stain off.

Anyway, pretty much everything you find in the stores will kill you. That’s the price of makeup. And the makeups that are listed on the site as being OK and safe don’t really work. I wanted safe mascara because I have sensitive eyes (and ears and skin…) and all the reviews said the mascara either didn’t really change their look or that it came off really easily. So a little chemical is necessary for what we’re trying to achieve here.

But for a few days lipsticks are ruined for me because I went shopping for house stuff and Revlon lipstick was on sale. I couldn’t decide (I blame decision fatigue!) which lipstick to buy so I got 3: demure, peach and another one that’s pretty much the exact same as demure with a very subtle lighter color. And I’ve been wearing them every day and feeling all fancy-pants in my pretty lipstick.

THEN I read this FDA analysis of lead levels in lipstick (say that three times fast), and now I’m just a teeny bit worried when I put the lipstick on, so I’ve mostly been sticking to colorless chapstick. Which smells lovely, but is not making my lips any more colorful.

I really don’t want to end up with worry lines from my mild concern every time I put makeup on, but I don’t see a way around it yet.

Tips? Tricks? Ideas?

Am I being paranoid for nothing?

Would you just throw away all of your shiny new three lipsticks?

6 comments on “Blog: Lipstick and Lead

  1. Michael Doss says:

    Keep ’em, just don’t wear it as often. Lead is dangerous over time, when it builds up in your system. And men (well, men I’ve talked to and socialize with) don’t really care about lipstick – it tastes funny and gets on everything.

  2. twobetties says:

    My grandmother wore red lipstick every day for 70 years and she was just fine. I wouldn’t throw them away if I were you. Maybe just don’t eat them, or suck on them, or bite them. 😉

    I’ve always heard that you should never put anything on your skin that you wouldn’t put in your mouth because your skin is the largest organ but most of us don’t do that even though we probably should. We all use lotions, perfume, hair products, etc. that have chemicals. I don’t think it’s necessarily a good thing, but it happens and I have never really heard of anyone being literally poisoned by a product.

    There are a lot more options for organic makeup now if you’re worried. A lot of those bare minerals and such are said to be “natural”. Although they are also more expensive (surprise, surprise)

    • rubysongbird says:

      First I was thinking that lipstick from years past didn’t contain as many dangerous chemicals, but then I realized that in the 50s and 60s there were all kinds of dangerous chemicals (DDT?) going around and we didn’t know better. So I guess for now I’ll try not to lick my face too often 🙂 And maybe it’ll be just fine.

  3. twobetties says:

    Why is my avatar so ugly?!

Share your thoughts

