How can we keep from singing?

Despite this crazy scheduling, I’m feeling pretty darn good.

I’ve found a few hours here and there for myself (for instance, skipping everything this morning so I could see my man and my bff and have lunch) but somehow the week has just not been as stressful as I anticipated.

This could be due to finding little pockets of relaxation, but I think what really does it for me is that I’m spending an average of 3 hours a day concentrating on nothing but music.

That relaxes me, and makes me happy. I feel good, though tired, at the end of every rehearsal.

All I’m thinking about are the notes, and the sound, and listening. It’s easy to be in the moment when the moment is so  good!

And yes, I haven’t had much time to see my boyfriend this week, or to go out with friends, but I’m not harried or crazy faced. The rehearsal time makes the rest of my week go well.

So in the future if I start overextending myself on projects and volunteering, I’ll have to remember this. As long as I’m overextended but doing something I love, it’s totally worth it.

After our concert tonight (7:30pm at Orange Coast Unitarian Universalist) I’ll start rehearsing my recital song for next Sunday’s performance — it’s just one song, and it should be fun. I’ll be doing “Still Hurting” from The Last Five Years.

You’re all invited to my recital, too, if you want to come by 🙂

Share your thoughts

