A local adventure: Zip lining

I went zip lining!

For those of you who know me in person, yes, this is old news, but I just rediscovered the photos so it’s kind of new news.

I am really afraid of heights. And so is my sister. But together we thought this would be a really good idea. Luckily we were right.

There’s a zip lining place inside Irvine Regional Park, which is not actually in Irvine. It’s in Orange. Neither of us ever would have guessed this place existed, but she found it on a Groupon so we got a group together and went on a weekend.

Can't you tell we're jazzed? So ready to take on the zip line.

The couple leaving the ziplining station ahead of us looked intact and happy, and the perky high schooler explaining the rules said it was totally safe. Who are we to question an upbeat 17-year-old? (Just kidding – I’m sure she was well-educated in the dangers and CPR and first aid and all that jazz.)

I don’t think this is normally open to the public because I couldn’t find it on the website for the Irvine Ranch Outdoor Education Center, but I did learn that the place is run by the Boy Scouts.

I also don’t know how high up it was — a wealth of information here, I know — so I’m going to guess about 50 feet? Keep in mind that my sense of distance is about as good as my sense of time.

We all had to wear helmets and tightly strap on the harness, and then we were free to jump off a ledge and hope we didn’t get stuck hanging in the middle of the chasm.

My sister is a PRO. She ran and jumped like nobody’s business. Apparently that’s because she’d read that if you don’t have enough momentum, you end up suspended in the middle of the line and you’d have to hand-pull yourself to the edge. Either way, I was super proud of her for going for it like that.

Photo belongs to RubySongbird

Wheeeeee!!!!

Me, on the other hand…

I had some trouble with the first take-off, but after that I jumped off like it was no thang (don’t make fun, that sucker was higher than it looks!).

There’s video evidence of this but I’m a little embarrassed to share it. No matter how cute you think it is.

Zip lining was really, really fun. And kind of feels like riding the swings at Disneyland – you have something a nice metal chain to hold onto, and there’s only minimal danger of flinging out of your harness and dying. Plus you get to feel like you’re flying, a little bit. Good times.

If you get a chance to do this, it’s a good beginner’s route to a longer zip line elsewhere. Kind of takes the fear edge off.

Details:

Irvine Ranch Outdoor Education Center
http://www.outdooreducationcenter.org/
2 Irvine Park Road, Orange, CA 92869
714-923-3191

photo belongs to RubySongbird

Here's the entrance. Pretty welcoming, yes?

3 comments on “A local adventure: Zip lining

  1. Jamie says:

    Since you’re in the region, though, one big recommendation for Irvine is to visit the Orange County Great Park and go up in the balloon. You get a great view. They have events there, often as well. It’s a great feature of the community.

    • rubysongbird says:

      That is a great suggestion! I’ve tried a couple times to go up in the balloon but the wait list filled up both times before I got there.

      • Jamie says:

        I got to go up in it twice when I lived down there; once in the daylight and once at night. I even went out there once and watched “Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs” on a family friendly night in the summer. I think they try to have live music and dancing there in the summer now. When I lived there, they were still building some elements of the park.

Share your thoughts

