Blog: Living in the Cloud

Living in the Cloud – My New Years Resolution from 2011 – Leah Culvers Blog.

In 2011 I attempted to get rid of as many physical things as I could. I took some risks and purposefully sought out new services I could use to further my cloud lifestyle. Here’s a rundown of all the cloud services I used to replace all the “stuff” in my life.

This year, I’m also moving to the cloud. Not everything. I still have  hard copies of music albums, and it’s going to be a long, long while before I embrace e-readers over books, but I am moving my photos over.

It’s taking FOREVER. I have photos back to 2002, organized by month and year. I take gigantic photos and I keep them all on my computer. Some also are on CDs but I’m not organized enough to know what is and what isn’t.

If something happened to my computer and I lost all of my photos, I would be devastated. The rest of the stuff on here I can easily replace or reinstall.

So one of my resolutions this year was to move to the cloud. I am still keeping copies on my computer. But I’m also uploading the full-size version so that I have a backup if necessary.

I looked into a few different services, and considered going all-CD too, but that would be much more time consuming. In the end, I settled on buying extra storage in my Picasa account through Google.

What do you do to ensure you don’t lose your photos and videos?

2 comments on “Blog: Living in the Cloud

  1. Down to e-readers! I’m a book-ey for life, too! 🙂

Share your thoughts

