Holidays: Yes, I believe in Santa Claus!

I took my little cousins out to a Christmas tree lighting this past weekend and found out the 9-year-old no longer believes in Santa Claus! Of course this makes me sad, because I *still* believe in Santa Claus, and I’m 27!

My parents did a pretty good job on me, because I’m pretty sure I also believe in fairies, and I owe it all to the snow on the roof, seeing Santa’s reindeer’s hoof prints on our roof and porch surrounded by fake snow (who else but the reindeer would have eaten those carrots we left out?) and the teeny tiny too-small-for-parents-to-create fairy foot prints in my tooth fairy box when I lost my baby teeth.

So yea, that magic is still alive even though I’m getting pretty darn old.

And so I was sad when I learned that she no longer thinks that Santa exists, that she knows her parents buy those presents, and wrap them and sign the tags with someone else’s name. But I think there’s a glimmer of belief in there somewhere because when I refused to agree with her, and insisted that Santa is real, she wavered. Just a little, but enough to give me hope.

Though I wish she would stop saying these things in front of her 7-year-old brother who most certainly still believes in Santa.

SANTA CLAUS FACE!

And I found this letter at Cozi family planner that sums up pretty much EXACTLY how I feel about this topic, to this day.

These are my favorite parts of the letter:

There is no one Santa.

Santa is bigger than any person, and his work has gone on longer than any of us have lived. What he does is simple, but it is powerful. He teaches children how to have belief in something they can’t see or touch…

It’s a big job, and it’s an important one

So, no. I am not Santa. Santa is love and magic and hope and happiness. I’m on his team, and now you are, too.”

That’s right. I just love it.

So I leave you with this: more Dolly Parton.

What?? Christmas isn’t Christmas without Dolly!

Share your thoughts

