Breads, breakfasts, and drinks

Today is the last day of the recipe party!

And the theme is breads, breakfasts, and drinks. (See that Oxford comma? I’m a rebel!)

I can TOTALLY get on board with these recipes. And I’m excited to see all the lovely and easy recipes people have linked to on the page. Click on the sparkly picture above and you can browse all the brilliant party-going additions.

My contribution today is a little lazy because I am too tired to type out my actual banana bread recipe, and though I have an incredible recipe for pumpkin bread saved on my computer I am not at liberty to share that one because it belongs to my boyfriend’s mom and also because it always comes out delicious and I like when people are like, ‘Damn, how’d you make something so magical? ‘ And I can just shrug and they think I am a stealthy gourmet cook.

Or something like that.

So for my breakfast item I am going to suggest you eat some cereal. The healthy kind, in a bowl, with milk.Maybe cook an egg with it? Something like Drunk Kitchen’s Brunch.

And as far as drinks go, I say take a cup and pour some vodka in it. Then add a little tonic water and a splash of lime. Ta-da!

These are not fancy, but they fulfill the categories.

Did I mention I’m tired? It’s been a long week.

On to the actual recipe! From Simple Recipes.

In my version, you DON’T add vanilla and you DO add chocolate chips or nuts. Or both. Go crazy.

Banana Bread Recipe

  • Prep time: 5 minutes
  • Cook time: 1 hour

Ingredients

  • 3 or 4 ripe bananas, smashed
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 cup sugar (can easily reduce to 3/4 cup)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour

Method

No need for a mixer for this recipe. Preheat the oven to 350°F (175°C). With a wooden spoon, mix butter into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl. Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in. Add the flour last, mix. Pour mixture into a buttered 4×8 inch loaf pan. Bake for 1 hour. Cool on a rack. Remove from pan and slice to serve.

 

Share your thoughts

