Reading: “A Dance With Dragons”

If we’ve spoken at all lately you know already that I’ve been reading George R.R. Martin’s “A Dance With Dragons,” the most recent book in the Song of Ice and Fire series (Game of Thrones for the TV-only types).

I feel like I have been reading this book for a year, though really I only started it a couple months ago, and have since completed a couple other books so I haven’t totally been slacking. Even now I am also about halfway through Raymond Chandler’s “The Long Goodbye.” (Which Vincent read on the plane to Japan. Sheesh, I need to get my own reading list. Please leave suggestions in the comments!!! Oh wait. Or don’t. I picked up a bunch of books at a swap in October and haven’t opened any of them yet. This is a long parenthesis.)

The George R.R. Martin books are a serious commitment. It’s a real relationship, people. With invested time and emotions. And a good amount of frustration and anger (kind of like when I watch Revenge. Lookin’ at you, jerkface Tyler).

It takes me about half of the Bible-sized monstrosity before I really get into the characters again, but once I do the plot moves QUICKLY.

Since I just got to the part where I really like the book, I’ll probably be spending a little more time reading and a little less on the Internet, or Twitter, or Facebook…

I started this series because they are Vincent’s favorite books. He rereads them every few years because they are that good. He’s right. There is more detail than even J.K. Rowling could hope to squeeze in. Each tome is chock full of family history and sneaky little details that you won’t understand until you’ve read the next two books, and by then you’ve completely forgotten the reference (unless you’re Vincent, and then you totally get ALL of it.)

It’s probably¬† better to read them in a row instead of alternating other less stressful books in between like I’ve done. And if you start the series and get totally obsessed, there are multiple Reddit forums (I’m a nerd. Whatever.) on the topic. This one is for A Song of Ice and Fire series; and this one is for the Game of Thrones TV show.

Happy reading!

Share your thoughts

