Thankful: frosted and freezy

In honor of Thanksgiving, and in hopes of being a happier person, I am doing a few posts on what I am thankful for.

I live in CA and while (I think) the reputation of our weather is “Sunny 70 degrees” all the time, the reality is that it does get really cold.

*Now’s a good time for a disclaimer. I’m a bit of a weather nerd. I don’t know what meteorologists actually do, but I like to look at pretty graphics of weather forecasts*

In SoCal we don’t get cold enough for snow, but it’s still frigid enough that I need a scarf, two shirts and a jacket sometimes to go outside. It’s cold enough to turn on the heater. And I’m not far from real snow.

Looks like snow, right?? It totally isn't. I don't know what it is. But it was windy that day.

But that’s one thing I’m thankful for. I’m thankful, first of all, that I am able to appreciate the small things in life — the things we often take for granted or don’t think about.

I’m thankful that we do have rain, cold, sun and trees that change colors and seasons. I’m thankful for the beauty in nature, and for remembering to stop sometimes and appreciate the sky, or the frost on the leaves.

And thankful for talented photographers like SKPhotography for sharing their images. If you get a chance, swing by frosted « Personal Perceptions.

I’ll be back tomorrow. Stay warm, my friends!

See that? SNOW!

Share your thoughts

