Sedona: Tlaquepaque, New Age shops

I thought Sedona would have New Age shops all over the place. Its reputation for spiritual journeys and breathtaking scenery had me expecting stores built into the sides of mountains, and New Age shops on every corner.

In fact, one of the main things my mom had heard about and wanted to do was take a photo of her aura. Which we did.

Earlier we had visited the Chapel of the Holy Cross, which is also thought to be a vortex site, but no one was spinning off to the left there. I have no photos from that trip because I thought I had forgotten to bring my camera. Of course, after we got back to the main town I found the camera buried in my purse. D’oh.

This lovely picture was taken by my sis.

Thank you sister! Chapel of the Holy Cross.

The chapel was very small, but had a serene air to it.  They had a nice little gift shop downstairs that was much cooler (in temperature) than the upstairs area during midday. I recommend visiting, though the walk up to the chapel is a bit steep. A sweet little elderly woman was on the bus tour with us. She was worried about walking up the path to the chapel and struggled a bit getting to the top but she made it back down OK.

On the way back from the Chapel, the tour guide told some great stories about the wealthy people who had settled down and built mansions in Sedona.

As we left Sedona to head back to regular life, we hit up the last vortex site at Bell Rock.

We also visited Tlaquepaque‘s artsy shops. It took the entire week of our vacation before I could pronounce the word. (It’s like “te-la-kee-pah-kee,” if you were wondering.)

They had some cool stuff, and a ton of art installations and statues, but I was more interested in the first large New Age shop I’d seen since we arrived in red rock country

And there, I bought a love candle. Betcha didn’t know that existed! It’s actually a really nice candle and it’s orange.

Intrinity Sculpture

The Intrinity Sculpture was pretty darn cool. There’s a shop next door to this one that carries mostly all crystals and rocks. I over heard people talking about different healing properties and the like.

Tlaquepaque fountain

Here, they have a statue of Sedona Schnebly. Some fun facts from the Sedona Museum:

“When Amanda Miller had borne a daughter on Feb. 24, 1877, in Gorin, Missouri, she “just thought up” the name Sedona for the child because she thought it sounded pretty. So, the name Sedona isn’t Spanish, nor Native American.  It was “just thought up” by a woman of Pennsylvania Dutch heritage living in Missouri.”

Sedona Schnebly statue in Tlaquepaque

Share your thoughts

