Sedona: Shopping and statues

Why does everything I write about in Sedona start with an ‘S’. Anyone else notice that?

By now you know that my family is little crazy, and me along with them. So it’s probably no surprise that when we went shopping along State Route 89A we only bought a few things. The majority of our ‘shopping’ time was spent taking goofy photos in front of, on top of, or next to, one of the many statues and art pieces installed along the main street.

Piggies! These weird-looking guys were everywhere.

We noticed statues of pigs all over the place. I have about 8 photos of my sister kissing them on their weird little noses.

These pink ones really grossed me out. Something about the bubblegum color of their hide combined with the bright blues of their eyes. They look like they stuck their snout into a bucket full of cupcake sprinkles.

Don’t know what it is about these particular statues but I really hate them. They seem evil. Like they might try to steal your soul and keep it trapped behind their beady little eyes. Is it just me? Do you find them adorable?

Sedona pigs.

One of the things on my list of “Things I Want To Do in Sedona” was to do yoga on top of a mountain.

Well, that didn’t happen because I didn’t want to get red rock sediment all over my yoga mat. Also because it was really hot outside most of the time and I’d rather lounge by the pool in the heat of the day.

But it’s OK. I’m not complaining. I think the hiking, walking and timeshare gym gave me enough of a work out while on vacation.

A candy store along this strip was where I found jalapeno jelly.

Have you ever tasted good, green, jalapeno jelly? It’s delicious! Slap a teeny spoonful into a crater of plain cream cheese on a Triscuit and you’ve got snack heaven.

I'm a horse! Glad you can't see my underwear here. Whew, that was a close one.

I probably should have brought home some souvenir boots, or a cowboy hat, or something.

Instead, I brought back jalapeno jelly, postcards, some great memories, some blackmail photos, and one very full camera SD card.

Share your thoughts

