Blog: 16 Tips to Simplify Your Life (and Increase Your Productivity)

Now that we’re home from Japan, I have a few days to readjust to life before going back to work.

I’ll admit, the prospect is a bit stressful, particularly because when I think of work, it’s a huge chunk of my day leaving only my evenings to myself. And even those are filled with other activities…

So I’ve been checking out ideas for cooking meals ahead of time, ways to make more time in the day and filling in more exercise time — that last one, admittedly, I’ve been slacking on.

All the walking in Japan took the place of my regular hour workouts during the week. I think I was able to maintain and not gain weight, despite eating a pastries and dessert on vacation.

Now that it’s back to real life (groan) I’ll have to get back in the swing of my normally hectic schedule.

I found some great productivity tips here: 16 Tips to Simplify Your Life (and Increase Your Productivity) « tom.basson.

For me, the easier tips to follow are those I’m already doing.

taking one full day a week as a complete recovery day.

Those are my Sundays – church, leisurely lunch, chillin’ and chores and relaxing at home Sunday night cooking a yummy dinner.

Learn to say no.

Though not everyone will believe me, I do say “no.” To many, many things. And even with letting go of most of the guilt of saying “no,” my schedule is still packed. I’m sure there’s a lesson in there, somewhere.

Plan your week ahead.

This is one I struggle with. The evening /work day commitments make it tough to stick to home-cooked meals, for instance. One glitch, like losing my ice pack, screws everything up for the week. I’m hoping to plan out at least the last 2 days of this week, and spend time on Sunday organizing myself for the week ahead. There are times that looking at my organizer gives me anxiety, but am hoping to keep that under wraps since the holiday season is coming up.

The blog post has more tips, but those are the ones I am focusing on, for now. If you have any tips for protecting your time and not making yourself crazy, please post!

Share your thoughts

