Day 8: Park cafe!

Kichijoji has an amazing park with a lake, coffee house, restaurant, zoo… It blows my central park away.

Their “park cafe” is this:

20111013-064817.jpg

And there’s a cute little coffee shop with signs saying no photos, screaming children or yapping dogs. I snapped a picture before they opened (also before I saw the no photos signs). Our drinks came with lovely foam art.

20111013-065839.jpg

We met up with a friend at Mother’s pizza shop near the park. Oh man, they make a good pizza. I never would have thought to put honey on a cheese pizza but now that I know, my world is changed.

20111013-065657.jpg

The rest of the afternoon Vincent and I spent wandering Jiyugaoka and shopping, talking, resting at a hidden temple and reading about Buddhism. All in all, a lovely day.

20111013-065750.jpg

We hit up the grocery store near Dain’s apartment and cooked up pasta with shrimp, garlic bread and salad for dinner!

20111013-065823.jpg

I’m realizing that we only have one more day and it is far from enough, since we lose a day and gain a day traveling. There are still things I want to experience here, but we have exceeded my expectations of the amount of sightseeing we could do.

I cannot wait to come back!

Share your thoughts

