Quick lunch in the office. Nothing to see here.

No, really. This is a pretty boring post. I ate lunch at my desk. This week, there is way too much work to do to be taking lunch breaks so I ate next to my keyboard and then continued doin’ the job.

By next week I will be IN JAPAN!!! With Vincent and our friend Dain. In TOKYO. Can you tell how excited I am?

HOW ABOUT IF I USE ALL CAPS?

Yea, that’s some serious excitement. It’ll be my first (but not last) trip out of the country and I have a shiny new passport I’m raring to get stamped.

I hear the fish from the island is not safe to eat due to the whole earthquake, tsunami, nuclear power plant destruction in March. The thing I was most excited about was visiting the fresh fish market and trying out native foods. I will do as much of that as possible and hopefully will not come back with high levels of radiation in my system.

Though honestly, fresh salmon straight out of the ocean might be worth it. Just a little bit.

We are planning to visit Tokyo and Kyoto, and have a very general list of things to do. If you have suggestions, please leave them in the comments!

For the next couple weeks, this space will turn into a travel blog as we chronicle our first overseas journey.

Without further ado (JAPAN, folks!) I present my oh-so-boring lunch:

Yup. Movin' along.

2 comments on “Quick lunch in the office. Nothing to see here.

  1. Kinkakuji! Ginkakugi! The gold and silver temples in Kyoto are totally worth checking out, even though they’re across town from one another. And the Philosopher’s Path (near Ginkakuji) is beautiful even when the cherry trees aren’t blooming.

    • rubysongbird says:

      The Philosopher’s path sounds AMAZING. I’ve seen pictures, and would just love to walk down there, contemplating the universe. I’m not sure we’ll make it to Kyoto. Our guide/host says there’s a closer city that has similar sights, hot springs and temples to check out. Whereabouts in Japan did you visit besides Kyoto?

Share your thoughts

