Travel: Sedona

Oh man, Sedona is gorgeous. Red rock formations, New Age philosophies, hot weather and swimming pools.

Everything the postcards say is true. We visited the vortex sites, and found some kind of energetic earthy something at a couple of them. We didn’t get a chance to walk down to Bell Rock, but we visited Cathedral Rock, Airport Road, and Boynton Canyon. Even if you don’t find the spiritual change in the air, the views are breathtaking, and the air crisp and clean; especially if you head out after it starts to cool off a bit.

We used this website to find the vortex sites: http://www.lovesedona.com/01.htm. Their directions are spot-on.

Driving up to Sedona we saw rain, thunder and lightening, and more than a couple double rainbows. It was a great start to a week long vacation. As the days progressed the rain stopped and it was just freaking hot instead. I suggest spending a ton of time at the pool, but bring your SPF 85 sunblock or you will be FRIED. Like a painfully tender lobster.

I highly suggest people visit Sedona. If you’re looking for a spiritual journey, it might be best to not visit with a ton of people, and to hire a guide to take you through yoga on a mountain or some such. You can find tons of activities and New Age-y folks in the Visitor Center at the end of the main shopping area.

That’s also where the jeep tours, candy shop and aura photos are located.

I hope you get a chance to visit some day. I definitely want to go back!

Javelina Cantina has margarita specials certain nights. The food is good, too. And the center it's in has tons of cool sculptures and art installations to check out as you wander around aimlessly 🙂

This is Red Rock Crossing. You can see Cathedral Rock in the distance, through the forest.

I suggest hiking Red Rock Crossing during the day time, when you can swim in the creek. We went at dusk and the bugs were coming out. When we were ready to walk deeper into the forested area, the spiders started coming out. I swear, it was like something out of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, when Hagrid tells Harry to follow the spiders, and there are little black spiders EVERYWHERE.

This makes me a total Harry Potter nerd, but my brother also knew what I was talking about so at least I’m not alone 🙂

My sister was walking toward the forest as spiders were crawling out of holes on both sides of the path. That was our cue to get the hell out of there.

This is me, heading toward the water. No spiders here. Yet.

This is a not-very-flattering picture of me as I contemplated swimming. I didn’t. There were little tiny bugs swimming over the top of the creek, so that was out.

I did dip my feet into the cool water, but since everything is red rock, the bottom was slippery and puffed up red dust when my toes touched the ground. If I make it back some day I do want to dip into the water, and also follow the creepy trail in day time as far as it will take me.

From Red Rock Crossing.

This is Bell Rock. It looks EXACTLY like the postcards.

The switchback on the way toward Flagstaff.

Share your thoughts

