The Chart House, Newport

Reading my blog, you probably think I eat nothing but pasta and vegetables. Which is partially true. But what you don’t see are the Jack-in-the-Box chicken sandwich Tuesday nights, or the nights I reheat leftovers, or the nights we go out to dinner.

Over the weekend we visited the Chart House restaurant in Newport Beach for a friend’s birthday. I got there early, and hung out alone at the bar until my friends arrived. There was NO ONE at the bar on a Sunday night, so I did not get hit on by older men, much to the disappointment of my boyfriend, who was plotting out ways to save me as he walked up to the restaurant.

I had macadamia nut encrusted shrimp, mud pie, and clam chowder. The soup was nothing excited, and the mud pie was just mud pie, but the shrimp and green beans were amazing. I pigged out on drinks and chowder before dinner came, so I got to reheat them the next day for lunch. Totally worth it.

Their sea bass was also really good, though I realize that sea bass is not necessarily an ocean-friendly thing to order.

As for drinks, we had standard martinis, mixers, and scotch, but a friend ordered a very interesting and also kind of gross drink that mixed mango and pepper with a salt rim.

Oh, and there was calamari. Really good, but I actually preferred the sweet potatoes they mix in with the calamari. It came with a tomato-based sauce and a sweet-and-sour sauce.

I didn’t take pictures – I know, classy — but I’m sure you can imagine. We had a great view of the boats on the dock out the window. But we were the last people in the restaurant with 8 p.m. reservations. I suggest going early. A waitress said the busy hours are 4-7:30 p.m. I have a feeling they cater to an older crowd.

If you decide to go, here’s the info:

2801 Coast Highway West, Newport Beach, CA

(949) 548-5889

 

 

Share your thoughts

