Dinner: Salmon with onions

Salmon with a mustard-maple-onion sauce is the first home-cooked meal I ever shared with my boyfriend. It holds a very dear place in both our hearts, and neither of us get sick of it for long.

The recipe is easy – equal parts Dijon mustard, finely-chopped onion, and pure maple syrup, mixed together in a little bowl and poured over the salmon before it goes into the oven at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes, depending on the thickness of the fish. Whatever mixture you have left over can be used as a salad dressing, or poured straight onto the fish when it comes out of the oven.

The sweet and spicy taste is perfect with a good piece of salmon. And cooking this dish always reminds me of when we first started dating, when I still tried to impress him with my cooking 🙂

Since then, I’m pretty sure he’s surpassed me in skill and possibly in new dishes.

Chopping the onions. And NOT CRYING. That's right.

Attempt at risotto. The most successful so far.

Risotto is very difficult. OK, not really. You just have to pour the stuff into a pan on the stove and STIR.

For what feels like hours. Stirring and stirring, until the rest of your dinner is getting cold and you’re cranky and hungry. And even then, the risotto is NOT COOKED THROUGH.

Maybe I should invest in some boxes of microwave risotto.

This is the closest we have come to making fully cooked risotto. In a cheesy sauce. It came out mostly cooked, but a little nugget in the center of each piece was still hard.

I suppose I will still try again.

Squash. The George Foreman grill is one of the best investments. Ever.

I am getting a little tired of eating zucchini and yellow squash. But when cooked just right (like on the George Foreman grill) it’s still the perfect side dish. And pretty soon we won’t be able to get yellow squash at the store, so I suppose I should suck up the complaining and eat it. 🙂

This is the finale, in all its glory.

This is not a great picture of the wine, but if you look into the glass, you can see a reflection of the dinner plate, which I thought was cool. This is also not my first glass of wine that night 🙂

A balanced meal.

Share your thoughts

