I ate this: quail egg shot

At dinner last week at my very favorite sushi restaurant, a bunch of us decided to do quail egg shots.

Why, you ask?

Because we can!

And it really wasn’t bad! I didn’t taste it much because I took it like a shot, but I was told the shot glass contained a quail egg, some onions, soy sauce and hot sauce, masago (the tiny orange fish eggs) and some sort of squid? After I swallowed the egg I tasted some of the hot sauce on my tongue. Next time I’ll have to try keeping it in my mouth for a little bit to see if the experience is any different.

If you’re interested in making your own and you know where the heck to buy quail eggs, click on this link.

Cheers!

This is a quail egg shot. Bottoms up!

Share your thoughts

