A weekend away with veggie frittatas

Sometimes you just need to leave town for a few days. I felt a bit like that last week. It’s been ages since I’ve taken a vacation from work, and after 3 weeks of 6-day workweeks it was time to run.

So I drove a couple hours out to my aunt’s house, leaving my laptop, work worries and household chores far, far away. There’s something about that house that is simply relaxing. Like, you walk in, are greeted by two rambunctious puppies and immediately you feel good about the world.

In exchange for the getaway, I made breakfast frittatas. I kind of made it up as went, using the memory of my first frittata. This dish is one of the first I ever cooked while living on my own. The recipe came from The Best-Ever Vegetarian Cookbook, which someone is selling online for $6.

The cookbook is brilliant. It has gigantic pictures of everything so if you’re screwing up the recipe you’ll know right away when yours does not look like the picture.

We had fresh zucchini from my aunt’s garden, and I bought some asparagus at the grocery store for *gasp!* $4.99. I can’t believe I spent that much after a week earlier picking up asparagus at the farmer’s market for a dollar. Sheesh. I’ve been spoiled, I suppose.

And my aunt is growing ORANGES! Or TANGERINES! I’m not really sure. They’re sort of small oranges with really strong citrus taste, but either way they were incredible and I ate probably 5 of them over the course of the day.

Recipe:

Cook the veggies in oil in a large oven-safe pan on the stove for a few minutes. While those are cooking, you mix eggs in a bowl with a little cheese and milk, and pour on top of the vegetables in the pan. You can pour extra cheese on top now, or wait until oven time. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Let the eggs/veggies cook in the pan for about 7 minutes. When the top of the concoction is still soft but the rest is hardened, you put the cheese on top if you waited, then put the pan in the oven for about 4 minutes, until the rest of the egg cooks.

Then you cool it on top of the stove for a couple minutes, cut into triangles and serve!

Even my sister, who does not like vegetables, ate most of it. She picked out a few veggies, but I’m pretty sure some of the others found their way into her mouth.

Bon appetit!

Those zucchinis are home grown and delicious! The asparagus was over-priced.

Almost done cooking.

Share your thoughts

