How does your garden grow?

My (mostly) tomato garden is coming along pretty slowly. Or I’m impatient. Could be both.

The tomatoes are starting to come in, but they are still green and I want to eat them already!!

Tell those plants to hurry up, k?

I stopped at Home Depot to pick up some soil and walked out with the potting soil, spearmint (oh my lord it smells so good), basil, cilantro and a bell pepper plant. So it’s really no longer an all-tomato garden but I’m so OK with that. Plus, we now have nearly all the makings of caprece! (I just need to find a way to grow cheese…)

I’ve been pruning the tomato plants from the bottom, and cutting some of the inside leaves so they are not too bushy and I can actually see if there are bugs or anything else weird going on in there.

There are some little holes in the biggest tomato leaves and I think I could have a tomato hornworm. I know, ewww. But no matter how hard I’ve looked, the little bugger is elusive.

I did a little research on how to kindly get rid of them and found this gem:

“However, if you see a hornworm covered with white egg sacs, leave it be. The egg sacs are those of a parasitic wasp called the Braconid wasp. Let the eggs hatch, and you’ll have an army of wasps ready to defend your garden against all types of pests.”

Sweet baby Jesus I hope this does not happen in my yard. The LAST thing I want is an army of wasps anywhere near me.

Thanks a lot Internet, now I’m going to have nightmares.

I also found thorny-looking green bugs that I think are what the Internet identifies as tree-hoppers. I pulled one off the other day and tried to step on it, but it flew away. I’m sure it will be back. Jerk.

Anyone out there know how to get rid of them in a safe & sane manner?

Early Girl.

The little yellow ones that are shaped like pears.

THIS SMELLS SO SO SO GOOD

YOU will be in my salad one day.

Bell peppers. Still a baby. Hope they come in before the summer ends!

3 comments on “How does your garden grow?

  1. Inez says:

    Love the gardening post – everything looks yummy! Oh boy, I’ve had long and hard battles with all sorts of bugs in my garden. Leaf-miners, soil gnats, aphids, thrips! It’s never ending. Hang in there! I’m currently using Espoma Organic Earth-Tone for insect control. It seems to be keeping things under control for right now, but I tend to use a lot of it and it’s kind of expensive. Look for it at OSH if you want to give it a try!

  2. rubysongbird says:

    What is a leaf-miner? Or do I not want to know?

    • Inez says:

      They are tiny bugs that burrow inside the leaves of the plant (they attacked my first edamame plant). They are pretty much unaffected by sprays because they’re inside the leaves, so you have to destroy the leaves to get rid of them. :(

Share your thoughts

